Fruits Basket

A very wonderful and prosperous 13 April to you all!  Kidding, but I missed you all!  I have returned with yet another review to probably an instant favorite anime I’ve seen twice all the way through.  Today, it’s Fruits Basket!

Imagine being cursed as one of the 14 characters of the Chinese Zodiac folklore, 13 animals and the emperor.   You’re born prematurely, only to grow up alone because should you be revealed, you’ll be ostracized.  You can’t show physical affection to anyone of the opposite sex because you’ll turn into that animal you were cursed to be.

This is the life of the Sohma family.  A large clan that is run by Akito, who is cursed to be the emperor.  He rules over them with an iron fist (understatement) to make sure that their secret is kept just that.  That is, until Tohru Honda accidentally discovers that secret.

Having lost her mother, she wanders to the home of Shigure (dog), Yuki (rat), and drifter Kyo (cat) Sohma from living in the woods nearby.  It is there that by accidentally tripping on them  she learns of their secret.  But they are shocked to learn that she’s not bothered by it…except when they return to their human selves, they’re naked.  From then, she meets most of the others who are cursed by this, some hoping that she could break the curse, others she’s a breath of fresh air from their tragic lives.

A friend of mine recommended this anime to me when I was in high school and just now, I remembered and watched it.  For the most part, I loved it because it’s something that I haven’t seen before, not to mention the story is original.  It has lots of up and down points and the characters are rather hilarious.  If I had to pick one, it would be Ayame.  He had me laughing since his introduction.  This will definitely  fill your quirky anime fix!

Two gripes: firstly, the ending.  It felt a bit rushed to me as I wanted a little more since Tohru has been introduced to so many of the characters and she’s had such an impact on them.  Also, they introduced 11 of the 13 of the folktale, why not the other two?

Otherwise, this is one that is right up there with Sailor Moon and Bleach for me.  I want to watch it in Japanese since I learned that Ryotaro Okiayu, Tomokazu Seki and Aya Hisakawa were apart of it.  Loved it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Quizoxy
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 00:33:55

    This show is legendary, what great memories watching this as a kid.

    Reply

Have something Fly to say? Leave a comment!

