Gamer Girl Rant – Aisha Tyler

If you watched the E3 footage, then you probably saw Aisha Tyler as a hostess.  It’s pretty common knowledge that she’s a gamer, a good one.  So why are the trolls emerging in force to call her out?

The internet seems to be rife with jerks; we all know this to be the case.  What confounds me is the blatant lunacy that spews forth from these people as if they’re some sort of authority.  So what’s the fuss this time around?

“How dare they let that woman on stage at E3!”

When I found out about the uproar over Ms. Tyler’s hosting of E3, I was confused.  The main complaint, “She’s not a real gamer!”  To that, I say BS.

I’m not going to rant about the fact that these trolls feel justified in such blasphemy, or even about the ridiculous, racist remarks they leave on every online venue they can about her.  As you’ll see in her response, Ms. Tyler does an excellent job of speaking her mind.  My question is, why is this even an issue?

As I watched E3, I saw celebrities, athletes and other individuals take the stage to present.  Why aren’t we reading about gamers who are up in arms about the fact that Joe Montana was present, or Usher?  What the heck does Flo Rida have to do with gaming?  I highly doubt the CEOs of  the large game development companies are hardcore gamers, and yet, no one questions their right to speak at the Mecca of gaming at any time.

So what’s the difference with Ms. Tyler?  What’s so different about having her on stage versus any other person?  Why the attacks on her credibility as a gamer?  If the expectation for E3 attendance is serious gamer credibility, why don’t the trolls come out in force across the board?

The gamer girl in me wants to say a lot of things right now.  I can make arguments about her prowess as a gamer, her obvious love for the industry and her accomplishments of being featured in games.

I could point out the fact that she’s so good at Halo, Bungie asked her to host the Beta for Reach.  All of this these supposedly “unimportant” tidbits point to a gamer, but unfortunately, in the case of loud, obnoxious internet morons, you just can’t fix stupid.

Take a look at Ms. Tyler’s response below.

Much love and much respect, Ms. Tyler, from one gamer girl to another.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CCDreamz
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 10:21:35

    *high fives her* But what did she expect from a bunch of children in men’s bodies. How dare a beautiful woman be intelligent and accomplished and a gamer when us dudes are stuck in our momma’s basements. lol

    Reply

  2. slasher443
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 11:38:37

    Haters want to hate. Don’t be mad cause she styling on you.

    Reply

  3. DrNikkiBlog
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 13:27:50

    While we were watching E3, my husband commented on the fact that he didn’t like her. He said they only used her to get reach and an audience. He’s an idiot. I can say, however, that her excessive use of the term ‘girl wood’ did throw me off a little. I wish they would talk about gaming more on The Talk. Dammit. Check out my blog. I have a couple similar posts about the plights of a girl gamer lol

    Reply

  4. deedee7789
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 17:41:29

    LOVED her response. I got love for my fellow girl gamers and I’m glad that she has the strength and courage to overlook the psychos and keep up the love for gaming because that is what it is all about.

    Reply

Have something Fly to say? Leave a comment!

