Gamer Girl Rant – Dragon’s Call WTF?

Dragon's Call II Logo

I love MMOs. I love the action, the classes, raiding, a little pvp, questing, all of it.  But I had to take a pause when I checked out the classes for Dragon’s Call II.

Dragon's Call II Warrior Class

I’m just as strong as any man. My metal covered nipples will ensure it!

Check out the warrior class.  Here we see the male and female armor sets.  If you put this armor on a male character, he’d look like the guy.  Take that same armor and put it on a female character and you’d look like the woman.

Now I know games like this are all about fantasy, and blah, blah, blah, but we’re talking about a warrior here.  This is the class serving as a moving meat shield.  The first into battle, protecting groups so the DPS can pew pew, hack, and slash.

Warriors hold the attention of the mobs.  So they have to be able to take a lot of hits, both up close and projectile.  They’re damage soaks, and they need enough mitigation in concert with hit points so their healers don’t burst a vessel trying to keep them alive.

How in all of pixled creation can you put a character in an outfit like the woman is wearing and call it acceptable for a warrior?

Let’s make a few things clear:

  1. Mobs are not affected by the amount of skin shown.
  2. Being half naked does not prevent a raid boss from berserking.
  3. Showing 85% of your breasts does not give you a damage boost.
  4. Thigh high, high heeled boots, a metal bra and panty set, and some shoulder armor aren’t practical when climbing mountains, questing through blizzards, sleeping outdoors, or dashing into battle.
Dragon's Call II Mage Class

Stand aside temptress. I’ve got magical business to handle! But uh, meet me behind the shed in 10.

Every class goes on like this.  The male characters seem to be ready to fight.  The females look ready for some RPG bedroom shenanigans.

“Keep your eyes on me while I cast a spell in your pants.”

I’ve been playing video games for a long time, so I’m used to seeing all kinds of disparities between the sexes in gaming.  But Dragon’s Call is taking this to a whole new level.  But get this, these looks are for the American audience.

Dragon's Call Warrior Comparison

The Arabian warrior is still sexy, but she looks more battle ready.  Am I to believe the USA warrior is going to deflect arrows, spells, and any other projectile so effectively, she doesn’t need to cover her vital organs?

Dragon's Call Warrior

You wouldn’t hit a girl with breasts, would you?

Is this game fun?  I don’t know.  I haven’t played it.  What I can say is, I had an instant reaction to seeing these classes with these armor sets.

Looks to me like you have two choices in this game.  You can play a character that represents a semblance of a fighter in a unique world, or you can play as a booty brandishing, almost bare-breasted (insert class here).

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pyrelle
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 18:02:59

    There is one thing you seem to not really touch on. 90% of the time it is males playing the female character in MMO’s, main reason given,” I don’t want to stare at a dudes ass all day.” So, while no it makes no damn sense at all that a female warrior is wearing a metal bra and panties, it makes sense from a business stand point that sex sells. So there is your answer on that one. As for your comparison of the two female warriors from different countries, that is just the company abiding by a cultures belief system of women, to sell more copies in said area. This does beg the question, why not have a toggle for armor one for normal and one for the uber geek guy with no life or chance of being laid. problem solved.

    Reply

    • Digital Distraction
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 18:10:31

      I’d be happy with a toggle option. I’ve played lots of MMOs, and despite what developers think, there are lots of women and girls who play too.

      Reply

      • Pyrelle
        Feb 06, 2013 @ 18:15:26

        I didn’t say there weren’t but for multiple reasons they tend to play male characters. At least that is what the studies showed according to my developer friend at Sony, but that was years ago, I am sure things could have changed.

  2. Tara Quan
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 21:11:58

    I’m a girl …. I always play a girl in RPGs. It’s partly because I don’t want to stare at a dude’s ass all day, but more because I like to “dress up” my characters with gear. I once did not use a better helmet because it didn’t match my outfit 😀

    It’s very clear who their target audience is. WoW and Guild Wars target the same audience, but I feel their character design is a mite more tasteful. Sex sells, tis true, but why don’t they just make an MMO about having sex while they’re at it.

    The character design should fit within the fantasy world they create – by all means sexify the mage or even the rogue (Dragon Age did that quite well), but the warrior “tank” should wear proper armor, just saying.

    Now if only there was an MMO where we could all play as Chocobos (and now I have this vision of boobilicious armored furry avians stuck in my head).

    Reply

  3. slasher443
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 17:36:40

    While it is true that sex sells, it is a silly way to try to sell a video game, at least one you want people to take seriously. There are cheaper ways to see half/fully naked real or digital women on the internet…::ahem:: so I hear. Everyone knows you should have the half naked woman standing next to the booth that is selling the video game, duh.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: this weeks blog review « Gaming&living

Have something Fly to say? Leave a comment!

