Microsoft & EA to Reveal Partnership

EA Logo

Most of the gaming industry is looking toward the upcoming Microsoft press conference for multiple reasons.  EA gives them one more.

Gamers everywhere are chomping at the bit to see the unveiling of a new console from Microsoft, but an exclusivity deal with EA could go far in influencing fans to make the leap to the new Xbox.

There aren’t any details on what exclusives there are in this partnership, but it’s a bold move.   There’s some speculation that this deal may pertain to Battlefield 4, but we shall see.

Activision announced a key partnership with Sony last Wednesday, highlighting exclusive add-on content for the PS4 version of Destiny.  Each of these announcements is all about positioning as EA and Activision jockey for first place in preemptively securing gamer fans.  This sounds nice on paper.  Now show us the games.

These high powered deals may sound good in theory, but at the end of the day, I’d like to see these developers announce how these partnerships will keep the cost of games below $70 (my guess on the price of the next gen titles).

If the threshold is $70, and DLC content is an additional cost, we’re looking at potentially spending $100 or more on individual titles.  Given the rumors about the new Xbox only playing watermarked discs, and no backwards compatibility on either console, gamers are going to be even more selective on the titles they play.

As many start to do the math, the Steam Box becomes an increasingly attractive option.  What do you think?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Slaus Caldwell
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 13:34:03

    Honestly, this go around I have decided that I will more than likely sit out on any offering by Sony. in regards to gaming consoles unless there are a fleet of compelling games that are exclusives. Frankly, nothing I purchased for my ps3 I couldn’t purchase for my xbox.and enjoyed just as much or better save for Little Big PLanet ( and that was all for my kids who loved it…until they got hooked on minecraft).

    my gaming dollars will go towards the new xbox system as well as the steambox more than likely.

    Reply

  2. slasher443
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 23:44:42

    I’m very interested in learning about the next generation’s game prices. I have a problem with paying $60 for 2 hour campaigns and hoping the multiplayer is worthwhile. I can’t think of a game I own that I would pay $70 for it. Maybe Skyrim?

    Reply

Have something Fly to say? Leave a comment!

