How High is Too High? The Next Generation of Gaming Prices

Wario - Bag of Gold

With every new generation of games and consoles, we see a price increase.  But what’s the limit?

Gamers know the routine.  Buy a console. Love a console. Play the console until it dies. Move on to the newest console. If you ever wanted to know the life cycle of gaming, console or PC, this is pretty much how it goes (but with PCs, we upgrade RAM and processors before we buy/build a new system).

With every dead gaming system, and every overworked title, we move on, but at a cost.

You’ve gotta pay to play.

We know this. We’ve accepted this, but hold on a minute. If my prediction is correct, the next gen games will cost $70 each, sans DLC, map packs, etc. Seventy dollars represents the base model. It’s like buying a car with an engine, but having to pay extra for things like a muffler, struts, and shocks. What about gas? That’s your subscription fee!

Show me the money!

If games are going to start at $70 each, I need to know what I’m getting for that price.  $60 games were nothing to sneeze at as far as the impact to collective wallets everywhere, but now they’re talking more.  On top of that, there are rumors that neither of the new consoles will have backwards compatibility.

Are you freaking kidding me?

So you have a system that forces you to buy new titles and potentially re-buy the titles you loved (with standard graphics) at a higher price?

Even the terrible games will be sold at this price. Let’s be honest, each year we see a crop of games with potential, alongside a plethora of detritus. This could spell disaster for indie game developers who can create a quality game, but without the million dollar ad campaigns to convince you to play it, will you even take a chance?

You want $70, I want the best darned gaming experience EVER.  Not a repackage, not an upgrade in play calling, magazine size, court sheen, jersey colors, tire brands, horseback riding, or a new mini-level.

I want what we used to have. I want games where gameplay is well thought out, purposeful, and intuitive. I want games where the story isn’t an afterthought. I want games where the characters have a purpose for being on the screen. I want to be challenged, I want to think, I want zero lag!

*deep breaths*

What’s your max?

How much is too much for a video game?  After all the extra content is said and done, and we’re kissing $100 per title, is it worth it? How will these prices restrict your gaming? Will you start budgeting for games? Will you rent more titles?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. An Thraxan
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 17:28:45

    I already have to budget my gaming and only buy if it is on sale or 6 months later. I gave up on console games when I first saw the PS3 game prices. That was too much then and the PS4 is ridiculous. My food budget for the week is €40! I am not paying out more than my budget of food for a week when it comes to gaming.
    Look at Crysis 3 which just came out and was say €60. Now they had a 33% sales 3 days later and it went down to €46. Then 3 days after that you could buy all crysis games (1, 2 and 3) plus get €20 off your next purchase and that cost €50!
    So how much is there percentage markup on these games. What do they need to make to cover costs and what is their turn over. I would love to know how much games should actually be sold for. They are simply getting greedy and parents who only want to shut their kids up they just buy whatever they want for them.

    Reply

  2. Eric
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 18:31:13

    If I can help it, zero dollars is a good price range. Depending on the PC title, I would wait for the price to drop to 20 or 30 before moving in on it. But zero dollars also comes with some annoying surprises.

    Like in MMO’s, some games are ill balanced and would allow paying customers a very over powered edge over their free clients. This is quite annoying if you like the game but can’t find anything else like it for the same price.

    As a PC gamer and if I had a credit card, Steam sometimes offer games at a good value price after a year of the release. I agree, 50-60 is way too much for a PC gamer considering the upgrades and maintenance cost plus time.

    Reply

  3. Terry Missouri
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 20:16:02

    This will services like gamefly, not only popular….but necessary.

    Reply

  4. EvilSnoman
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 21:24:36

    An, I completely agree.
    I’ve been following Humble bundle since it came to be. It literally opened my eyes to the wold of NON commercial games. Quite frankly, I’ve had it with the COD re-re-recycle. I am done paying through the nose for a game that I helped Alpha/Beta test only to see it flop due to last minute changes *cough* quakewars *cough* Or other games I’ve shelled out good hard earned coin to be horrified when I finish the whole game in 3 hours….

    Am I an indie lover yet? That remains to be seen. What I do know is in the last year I purchased a console (Xbox) and swore off anything COD. I used to be a hard core PC gamer. Now that there is nearly Zero difference (except Skyrim THANK YOU BETHESDA!!!! mods are awesome) I’ve stopped buying PC titles. What keeps me going is the hope that the indie world will give the big giant greedy game houses a run for their money. Better gaming experience is always > Flashy TV adds…. any day, any time.

    Reply

  5. wm40a
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 12:20:54

    How does a How does a service like Gamefly even work if they make games that only work on one system and can’t be resold? How do you rent a game that can’t be resold?

    I guess the better question is, if your focus is to stop people from being able to use other people’s games, how can these games be rented?

    Reply

Have something Fly to say? Leave a comment!

